Recent Searches

Tour 2 Cawdor Castle, Inverness, Culloden Battlefield and Loch Ness

star-4.550 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Highland Council, United Kingdom
Tour 2 Cawdor Castle, Inverness, Culloden Battlefield and Loch Ness

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

icon6 to 7 hours  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more


Save hours researching and planning a Scottish Highlands itinerary, and go on an action-packed bus tour instead. Starting from Invergordon, travel with ease between dispersed sites including Clava Cairns, Culloden, Loch Ness, Inverness Castle, Urquhart Castle, and Beauty Priory. It’s the ideal tour for travelers with limited time who want to see multiple highlights in a day.
  • Enjoy a tour that’s designed for Invergordon cruise ship passengers
  • Travel with ease between dispersed sites on a bus
  • Tick off many Scottish Highlands highlights in a day, including Culloden
  • Try and spot the Loch Ness Monster by stopping off at Loch Ness
Saved to wishlist!
Entrance to castle cost is included in your booking price. Inverness castle is closed for refurb.
  • Shore Road , Shore Rd, Invergordon IV18, UK

    If docking at Invergordon pier disembark cruise ship, walk 2 minutes to the coach park at the shore, Invergordon IV180DH or look for our Thistle Guide wearing purple and a Thistle lanyard. Or we will meet you at our booking office, 64 High Street, whichever you prefer. We will direct you to bus.

  • Saltburn , Saltburn, Invergordon IV18 0JP, UK

    If docking at Saltburn pier, just outside the town, please get onto the ship's courtesy shuttle bus and it will take you 3 minute ride to Invergordon High Street, and will drop you at museum where our guides wearing purple will meet you and take you to bus or small vehicle.

  • This activity will end right where it started.
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Infant seats available
    • Wheelchair travellers difficult
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 49 travelers
    • OPERATED BY Thistle Excursions - Invergordon Bus or Coach Tours
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More


    50 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 50 reviews
    Good tour but tries to pack too much in.
    , May 2022
    Tour was good. Cawdor castle was very interesting and the gardens were beautiful. Culloden battlefield had some interesting history and our tour guide went into detail about it. A must stop if you’re a fan of Outlander. We only had about 40 minutes in Inverness and wished we could have spent more time exploring there than taking the longer “scenic route.” Also the stop at Loch Ness was only about 10 minutes on the side of the roadway. Enough time to take a few pictures but that is all. I would recommend not stopping at Beauly and using that time in Inverness. Plan on bringing a snack since There really is no time to get a meal along the way.
    Beautiful Tour
    , Sep 2021
    Kate from Thistle Excursions was a very informative and interesting guide. We saw lots of the area around Inverness and enjoyed the beautiful scenery. Thank You.
    Did not get to all the sites promised
    , Oct 2019
    Guide spend so much time at the first stop (Castle) and could not get all the travelers back on the bus. Due to the delay we could not get to the Carnegie Whisky tasting and the Loch Ness stop was only 10 minutes. Poor time management on the guides part.
    icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
    Hi I’m rather confused as the venues you’ve mentioned are in different tours. The Carnegie whisky tasting is on Tour 1 but you’ve stated you went to Loch Ness which is Tour 2. The two tours are in different parts of the Highlands. I’m wondering if you were on a Thistle tour at all. I’m going to ask Trip Advisor to investigate as we do not do a tour that incorporates what you wrote. Confused! Wonder if you are too? Please explain.
    Wonderful tour
    , Aug 2019
    We enjoyed the tour. Only complaint is about the communication of the starting time. We failed to receive the text message about the starting time and ended up having to wait for the bus for one and half hour. They should let us know how they are going tom inform us the starting time. Better yet, why not starting the tour half hour after the cruise ship starts letting passengers get off the ship. This is what the tours of other ports did.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
    Every passenger is notified by email or message on Viator or Trip Advisor. We cannot make you read it and don’t know if you do read it unless you choose to reply which you did not. Every person receives this when they book. We do not send out text messages ever. This is just impossible with so many passengers. If you waited 1.5 hours you must have arrived very early. You were probably agitated that we couldn’t leave until the allotted time that we were scheduled to leave. Of course we need to wait for people who are coming at the correct time not very very early. You would want us to wait for you! We cannot change starting times according to when the ships dock as they come early or late. We must have a fixed time. The other ports you refer to are the ships’ own tours which bring all the coaches next to the ship then pull along side. We are in competition to the ships’ tours so are not allowed near the ships or into the dock. It would be fantastic if we were. So we have allotted times to leave. We don’t mind people coming early but just because you’re early we can’t leave without all of our passengers. I’m sure you understand that. Thank you for the 4 stars though nevertheless.
    Great tour
    , Aug 2019
    Enjoyed our tour. Pick up by ship was great. Driver was very informative. Went to many places of interest.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
    Thank you Karen. You went to Urquhart castle, Loch Ness etc with June - driver/guide. She’s lovely and imparts so much information. Glad you and your husband enjoyed it from the Norwegian Spirit.
    , Aug 2019
    This tour was the best on our cruise! We drove past Loch Ness. Having read the Outlander series, I was thrilled to see Culloden and the standing stones. Cawdor Castle was great. Our tour guide was exceptional - so informative and interesting. The price was surprisingly low for the quality!! guide was exceptional. She was so well informed and interesting.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
    Thank you for your lovely review. We try our very best to please people but it’s not always easy. I really appreciate your prompt review. I was your tour guide today and you were a lovely group. Maxine
    Perfect Day in Invergordon
    , Jul 2019
    I learned so much about the Scottish Highlands. Tour guide was amazingly prepared and connected the past history with present day Scotland. Very easy to locate your guide right at the port. I thought I got the Baku for my money.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
    Thanks Mary for going to the trouble to give us a review :)
    Mooie indruk
    , Aug 2019
    Leuke toer, goede uitleg, veel gezien van de Schotse hooglanden, in een paar uur mooie indruk gekregen van Schotland. Jammer dat je Iverness niet aandoet.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
    Thank you for the kind review and 4 stars. I understand we dropped a star because we don’t stop in Inverness. Next year we will have a tour that does. Hope to see you again. Thank you so much for choosing us.
    Tolle Landschaft
    , Jul 2019
    Toller Ausflug in schöner Landschaft. Faires Preis-Leistungsverhältnis. Allerdings kaputte Freispreicheinrichtung der Fahrerin, so dass hinten im Minibus kaum etwas zu verstehen war. Zudem rasante Fahrweise der betagten Fahrerin/Fremdenführerin.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    Traslado Privado
    , Jul 2019
    Es en inglés. Es como si contratas un traslado con un conductor (guía) quién se encarga de llevarte de un lado a otro. Por el camino te cuenta aspectos sobre lo que vas a ver. Luego, te dejan en cada punto de interés y te deba tiempo para visitarlo por tu cuenta.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
    Translation: It's in english. It is as if you hire a transfer with a driver (guide) who is responsible for taking you from one place to another. Along the way he tells you aspects about what you are going to see. Then, they leave you at every point of interest and I give you time to visit it on your own. Thank you for an explanation of our tours in Spanish. I’m sorry we don’t do the commentary in Spanish but we have mostly English or German speaking passengers. If we did it in Spanish then the others would not understand. We tell you about the places and the bits in between but we do not accompany you at your locations as we don’t think you want to stay altogether in a crowd with people you don’t know. We think you want to go off on your own and explore. I’m disappointed that you felt because of this you could only give us 3 stars but I guess we cannot please every single person. Thank you so much for bringing your group on our tour though. Again sorry we cannot do the tour in Spanish.

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Tour 2 Cawdor Castle, Inverness, Culloden Battlefield and Loch Ness
    Tour 2 Cawdor Castle, Inverness, Culloden Battlefield and Loch Ness


    6 to 7 hours

    Free Cancellation



    3 hours 15 minutes

    Free Cancellation



    4 hours 40 minutes

    Free Cancellation



    5 hours 40 minutes

    Free Cancellation



    4 hours 10 minutes

    Free Cancellation



    6 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation



    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations