Recent Searches
Clear

A Fatal Feud - An Immersive Treasure Hunt Murder Mystery - The Secret City

star-4.537 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
York, United Kingdom
A Fatal Feud - An Immersive Treasure Hunt Murder Mystery - The Secret City

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket

Overview

Puzzle fans need look no further than this immersive York treasure hunt murder mystery, set in 1491, that’s sent to your phone (over the Telegram app) as a series of riddles. Discover classic sights and quirky delights as you unravel each cryptic clue, unlock the path to the next location—and bring the criminal to justice. You’ll cover around 2.5 miles (4 kilometers), with two optional pub breaks en route.
  • Solve riddles and decode clues for a murder mystery set in York in 1491
  • Explore independently, following the clues on your phone
  • No cumbersome apps to download—works on Telegram (similar to WhatsApp)
  • Leaderboard lets you work as a team or compete against friends and family
Saved to wishlist!
A trail of riddles sent to your phone; solve each clue to unlock the path,...
Sent via Telegram smartphone app. Free to download & install. Available on all App Stores.
Clifford's Tower, York , Tower St, York YO1 9SA, UK

After purchase you will receive a text message with instructions of how to setup the trail. Once you're setup you'll receive a location of where to start the trail. Any questions, just get in touch!

Telegram App (Recommended)
11/13/2019 - 7/7/2023
Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 03:00 PM
Whatsapp (Recommended)
12/23/2019 - 7/7/2023
Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 03:00 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY The Secret City
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
37 Reviews
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews
star-3
Good idea needs better execution especially for price
Kurt_B
, Jun 2022
Started ok used lots of attempts lost with correct answers because we used full title names enjoyed for first 5 or so clues in the smaller streets out the way but by the time we got so far it just got a little boring to be honest so didn’t even end up finishing it unfortunately … brilliant idea but definitely felt something was missing… bit too expensive for what it was
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi Kurt! Sorry to hear you had issues entering some of the answers, I appreciate that can get a bit disheartening and maybe this led to the overall experience you had. We have a full money back guarantee so please just let us know and we'd be happy to refund you if you'd like. Kind regards, Tom
star-5
Great fun had by all
Danielle_M
, May 2022
Sharing the experience with my family. It took you to parts of York you possibly wouldn’t have seen otherwise and figuring the clues out was great fun. Highly recommended
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi Danielle, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we're so happy to see you had great fun! :)
star-5
Amazing experience
Louise_S
, Apr 2022
It was an amazing way of getting to know the city. Even the boys 13 and 10 loves solving the clues 🕵️‍♀️ thank you! A great experience and we will definitely be doing this again
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Louise_S, Very happy to hear that the boys got stuck in and made great detectives! Thanks for taking the time to let us know you had a lovely day! Kind regards, Tom & The Secret City Team
star-5
Great way to spend the afternoon
Karen_K
, Apr 2022
We had a great time doing the trail and good way to see York and visit a few pubs on the way. Some of the clues were a bit cryptic but we got there in the end!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hi Karen, Really happy to hear you all had a great time! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review! Hope to see you on another trail, Thanks, The Secret City Team
star-5
Awesome fun morning for the whole family!
Susana_D
, Apr 2022
We had such a fun time working out all the clues and taking in the sights, especially those places we would otherwise not have seen because we wouldn't have known about them! The first clue was slightly more difficult, especially as we didn't know what R and+ meant, but after we clocked it, the remaining clues were relatively easy and fun to decipher. We didn't feel rushed and really enjoyed the whole morning, would highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Good morning Susana, We're so happy to hear you had a great time on our trail! :) Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts as we really do love to hear how are teams feel on the trails! looking forward to seeing you again soon! Tom & The Secret City Team
star-4
Amazing way to see historic details hidden in plain sight!
Nicola_F
, Mar 2022
Lovely way to see a city we’ve visited many times before! We walked 22,000 steps around York yesterday, breaking up the murder mystery with regular breaks, and loved every moment. This is a terrific tour that takes you off the beaten path, and highlights beautiful architecture and fantastic historic details hidden in plain sight that we would otherwise have missed. Brilliant way to spend a day meandering around York.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hi Nicola_F, Lovely to hear you had a great time exploring and solving the mystery! There's so much great history in York! Thanks again!
star-5
Fun off the beaten track
Patricia_M
, Feb 2022
It was good fun, but the weather was shocking 😂 we got very wet. The coffee shop was lovely and we got a bit lost. Did a bit of shopping along the way and had fun!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Hi Patricia, It sounds like a lovely adventure, albeit for the rain! I'm glad you and your team still have a great time on the trail and enjoyed the lovely delights that York has to offer! All the best, Tom
star-5
Getting to know York in a fun way!
Leon_W
, Feb 2022
We had never been to York before and it really helped us to get situated and familiar in the city in a really creative and fun way. Thanks so much!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Good morning Leon, Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time and we're very happy to hear you enjoyed it. Kind regards, Tom
star-5
Fun
Natalie_S
, Jan 2022
Really fun way of exploring the city, the clues were cryptic but not to hard, could get a hint when we were stuck. Enjoyed the two pub breaks. Would recommend
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hi Natalie, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback, we really appreciate it! Hope to see you on our trails again soon!
star-4
We want to do this in all cities!!
Eve_T
, Jan 2022
We got to see streets of York that we would never have seen without the experience. The riddles were really fun to try and decipher, very cleverly thought up! We would have enjoyed having a few more pub stops if we were to do it again
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thanks Eve, we're working hard to roll out our trails in more cities. More pub stops, noted! Thank you!
star-5
Highly reccomended
Anna_M
, Jan 2022
It was excellent we both really enjoyed it. Its a great way to explore and absolutely reccomend it for anyone vacating here.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thanks so much Anna, we're really happy to hear you had a great time and would recommend it! :) Hope to see you on the trails again soon!
star-5
New sights
zoe_k
, Nov 2021
Getting to explore parts of the city we have't seen before and the atmosphere were amazing experiences
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi Zoe, Thanks for letting us know you had a great time and enjoyed the atmospheres! Hope to see you on the trails again soon, The Secret City Team
star-5
Great fun for the whole family
Staci_L
, Oct 2021
We had a bit of trouble getting in contact when we couldn’t get the tour started. But once we did. Omg. My teen daughters had an absolute blast! We had to make them slow down and share with mom and dad! Great way to spend time seeing the city. Clues were so fun. We wish they had these in more cities!!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hi Staci, thanks for bearing with us whilst we got you setup, usually we are almost instant! I'm so happy to hear your daughters and yourselves (once you got a go) had a great time! Thanks for taking the time to let us know! Kind regards, Tom
star-4
Excellent and Enjoyable 3 hours. Saw places and things i haven't see before.
Yvonne_K
, Oct 2021
Good communication on phone. Good clues. Disappointed that it ended where it did. Please review this maybe start from the end point. Work your way back into the centre
star-4
Good experience
Julie_P
, Sep 2021
Seeing sights of York that we would not have seen if we had just gone there. Good experience… the ending was slightly disappointing as we could not get the final clue due to a private function so felt slightly deflated but overall we both enjoyed it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Too intense
Sharon_G
, Jul 2021
A bit too intense for us. The language used is that of the time it is set in. Plus you get hints but no chance of just skipping and given the answer.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Sharon, Thanks for reaching out, i'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the style the route was written in. We trying and make the trail more immersive and allow teams to get into the period that the route was set in! We have a 100% money back guarantee, please get in touch and we'll be happy to assist you. Kind regards, Tom
star-4
Birthday fun
Patricia_K
, Jul 2021
Enjoyed seeing Al the areas of York you would never normally see,and taking on board some histoy on the way.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
HI Patricia, Thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts, we'd love to know what we could do to improve or trail so it would be worth 5 stars, please get in touch and let us know. Kind regards, Tom
star-5
Family fell
James_F
, May 2021
It was a very informative adventure add a really great time doing it and you got to see York in more ways that you could imagine
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Hi James, We love to hear how our customers get on and we've so happy to hear you had a fantastic time. We hope to see you on the trails again in the future, Kind regards, Tom
star-5
Great customer service
Judith_w
, Oct 2020
Great customer service we weren't 100 percent satisfied with the walk and they have very kindly given us a refund. They really care about your experience
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Hi Judith, We're really happy to hear that we managed to help you out. All our trails are covered with a 100% money back guarantee - if you go on a trail and don't enjoy it, just let us know and you'll get a full refund! We're adding in more historical info to some of our trails, so we'd love to have you back sometime in the future. Thanks again, Tom & TheSecret.city Team
star-2
Hard work without finding any knowledge about York
Judith_w
, Oct 2020
We have done one before and it gave us history knowledge at each point,where this doesn't and the clues are really hard work. I would not recommend.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Hi Judith, I'm really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the trail. This trail is intended as a puzzle game with a historical murder mystery built in. The aim is to provide an entertaining day whilst seeing areas of York you wouldn't usually and learn something at the same time. We try to incorporate historical facts within the where possible. We have a 100% money back guarantee, so if you haven't had a great time doing the trail, we'll refund you in full. Kind regards, Tom

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
A Fatal Feud - An Immersive Treasure Hunt Murder Mystery - The Secret City
A Fatal Feud - An Immersive Treasure Hunt Murder Mystery - The Secret City

star-4.537

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$18.74

star-4.53

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$18.74

star-4.5241

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$19.99

star-51138

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$176.20

star-5197

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$122.44
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations